Relais Borgo Lanciano
The Sanctuary of Madonna del Tufo (Our Lady of the Sandstone) is perched on a hilltop of the beautiful town of Rocca di Papa in the Castelli Romani District just 30 minutes from Rome. The origins of the sanctuary go back to 1490, according to tradition. Restoration work was commissioned in 1780 and 1792 by Andrea Doria and the church was also made bigger, a project that came to an end in 1854 with the construction of the peperino facade. After being assigned to the Order of the Holy Trinity it was completely rebuilt in 1931 to a design produced by the architect Don Salvatore Spadaro.There are three chapels on both sides of the nave and a polygonal apse.
Many couples from Rome get married at this Sanctuary and the panoramic views of Rome and Lake of Castel Gandolfo are just stunning!